AIPC is a nonprofit corporation governed by a board of directors.

Our Mission

To Prevent Injuries in Alaska

We pursue this mission using the public health model of injury prevention. We believe that in order to effectively reduce injuries and fatalities in any arena, it is necessary to consider the data that defines the problem. This means analyzing the epidemiology of a type of injury or cause of death, considering potential interventions relevant to both the mechanical causes as well as the human elements. Then, it is possible to implement interventions that address the specific elements of causation and to design interventions relevant to the appropriate population.

Our Funders

AIPC’s efforts have been generously funded by a variety of sources including:

Alaska Department of Health and Social Services
United Way of Anchorage Alaska’s Safe Routes to School Program
State Farm Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium
Donlin Gold National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Centers for Disease Control Anchorage Mayor’s Charity Ball
Municipality of Anchorage Rasmuson Foundation
Denali Safety Council Conoco Phillips
Alaska Department of Labor Alaska Mental Health Trust Authority
Alaska Native Medical Center Community Donations
AAA MountainWest  Buckle Up for Life: Toyota & Cincinnati Children’s

Our Staff

Marcia Howell, JD, has served as the Executive Director for the Alaska Injury Prevention Center since October 1, 2008. The Board of Directors supervises the ED. She began working with the Alaska Injury Prevention Center in 2000. She has been involved in multiple community collaborative efforts including 4 town hall meetings focusing on the negative impacts of alcohol, Coordinator for the International Safe Communities Conference, presenter on media literacy and teen-based media campaigns around the world and US. Prior to working at AIPC she was an attorney for 9 years in Alaska, specializing in disability and domestic violence issues.

Beth Schuerman, Projects Director, has worked at AIPC since 2003. She is directly supervised by the Executive Director.  Beth has a bachelor’s degree in business administration, is a Certified Child Passenger Safety Instructor and Senior Checker. She has experience coordinating successful youth events including bike rodeos, skateboarding competitions, and other alcohol-free events for teens. She has attended numerous LifeSavers Conferences and two International Conference on Safe Communities, where she was a presenter on AIPC’s teen projects. Beth also completed Injury Prevention trainings provided by Johns Hopkins University and the Indian Health Services.

Mandi Seethaler is AIPC’s Fiscal Manager and has been with Alaska Injury Prevention Center since 2009. Mandi is a Certified Child Passenger Safety Instructor and Senior Checker and in 2012 she was named the Child Passenger Safety Technician of the year by the National Child Passenger Safety Board. She will complete fiscal grant reporting requirements. She will also actively participate in CPS activities including car seat checks, tracking statewide CPS participation, assist with classroom presentations, as well as general administrative assistance.

Sylvia Craig joined the Alaska Injury Prevention Center in 2013 and is a Projects Director with AIPC. Sylvia is a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician and provides child passenger safety education and resources to the public. Sylvia’s duties include developing, implementing, and evaluating projects, as well as participating in relevant community and statewide injury prevention efforts.

Anchorage Youth Development Coalition

In 2015, the Anchorage Youth Development Coalition became a program of the Alaska Injury Prevention Center. The Anchorage Youth Development Coalition is a group of over 60 youth serving organizations and interested individuals that are committed to the AYDC Vision and Mission.

In 2000, over forty key youth providers envisioned and created a coalition based on the concepts of positive youth development. In 2003, AYDC became a formal coalition and hired a trainer to provide workshops and assistance to local organizations. United Way of Anchorage became AYDC’s fiscal agent and collaborator with numerous projects including Anchorage United for Youth and 90% by 2020. In 2015, AYDC merged with Alaska Injury Prevention Center (AIPC). AYDC is a part of Anchorage Collaborative Coalitions and the 90% by 2020 Partnership, among other active affiliations.

For more information about AYDC and their program staff, visit the AYDC website.


Our Board Members

Board Member
Hilary Strayer, President Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium
Soren Orley, Treasurer University of Alaska Anchorage
Ronni Sullivan, Secretary Southern Region EMS, Retired
Gordon Glaser, Director State of Alaska Division of Public Health, Retired
Nathan Johnson, Director Providence Health and Services
Michael Kerosky, Ex Officio Senior Strategist
Krystal Kompkoff, Director Alaska Job Corps
Krystal Mason, Ex Officio National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
Brian Saylor, Ex Officio Institute for Circumpolar Health, Retired
Corlis Taylor, Director Fairbanks Memorial Hospital
Angeline Washington, Director Alaska Native Medical Center